I hate to say it, but summer’s almost over.  Not that I have anything against fall–I love the crispness in the air, the cozy sweaters, the apples and cider and donuts.  But the first frost is looming, and it can only mean certain death to my tender tomato and cucumber plants.  (Or am I the only whose cucumber plants are still producing?  The things refuse to stop.)

If you do have some summer produce still on hand, you’re going to want to make these delicious little bites as a last taste of summer.  And then start breaking out your stock pots, because I can’t go much longer without a nice warm bowl of soup.

I found that the original recipe made far too much stuffing for my cherry tomatoes.  If you have very large tomatoes, the amount should work out, but if your tomatoes are smaller, try starting with half the stuffing and go from there.

Cucumber-Stuffed Cherry Tomatoes (recipe from Taste of Home)
Time:  25 minutes

24 large cherry tomatoes
3 oz. cream cheese, softened
2 T. mayonnaise
1/4 cup finely chopped peeled cucumber
1 T. finely chopped green onion
2 tsp. minced fresh dill OR 1/2 tsp. dried dill weed

Cut a thin slice off the top of each tomato, as well as a very thin slice off the bottom (a serrated knife works best).  Scoop out and discard pulp (I used a metal 1/4 teaspoon; a grapefruit spoon might also work).  Invert tomatoes onto paper towels to drain.  In a small bowl, combine remaining ingredients.  Spoon into a small zip-top bag; seal.  Snip off bottom corner of bag and squeeze mixture into tomatoes.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

