Sorry, Red Lobster.  Cheddar bay biscuits aside, you’ve got nothin’ on my in-laws’ shrimp scampi.  Perfectly cooked shrimp marinated in garlicky, buttery sauce and served over a bed of tender rice, it’s the stuff of mouth-watering commercials.  Except now you can stop drooling over the TV and make your own at home.  The results are heavenly, and you don’t even have to fork over an arm and a leg.

I posted this recipe a while back on my old blog, but I think it’s worth a repeat.  Prep time is minimal; you just have to remember to start marinating the shrimp a couple hours in advance.  It’s not terribly expensive, either; I usually have most of the ingredients on hand, and a 12-ounce bag of frozen shrimp is $5 on sale at Walmart.  Dinner for two for $5?  Sounds good to me.

My in-laws traditionally serve this dish on Christmas Eve, along with steak for a delicious “surf and turf” dinner.  Personally, I think the “surf” alone is more than enough.  Add in a nice salad, and you’ve got yourself a nice weekend dinner.

Shrimp Scampi
Serves 2-3
Time:  15 minutes, plus 2 hours to marinate (add 15-30 minutes for cleaning shrimp)

3 Tbsp. butter, melted
1/4 cup olive oil
1 large clove garlic, minced
1/2 tsp. salt
2 T. green onions, finely chopped
1 1/2 T. fresh parsley, minced
1/2 tsp. pepper
12 oz. to 1 lb. raw large shrimp, peeled, deveined, and rinsed
hot cooked rice (I use about 1/2 cup uncooked rice per person)

Combine first seven ingredients; pour over shrimp.  Cover; marinate in refrigerator for about 2 hours.  Lay shrimp in single layer on broiler pan.  Broil about 3 minutes on each side (the second side may only take 1-2 minutes).  Transfer to serving dish (don’t forget to scrape all the herbs and oil from the pan over the shrimp).  Serve over rice.

