So now that I’ve just drooled over summer’s bounty, here’s a completely out-of-season recipe for you.  Why turn on the oven and bake pumpkin muffins in the middle of the summer, you might ask?  Well, 1) I’m trying to make room in the freezer for this year’s squash crop and 2) they’re delicious.  I’ve made three double batches already this summer.  My recipe is based on this healthy pumpkin recipe, except they’re even healthier.  I always substitute Greek yogurt (plain regular yogurt works too) or applesauce for oil in muffin recipes, and I usually like to throw in some wheat germ and nuts to give them an extra burst of flavor.  I generally also reduce the amount of sugar (my mom always cuts the sugar in quick breads by half, but I think that would be too much in this case).  Don’t be scared away by the healthiness, though.  These muffins are moist, pumpkin-y, and very un-cardboard-y (yeah, I realize that last one might not be the most glowing adjective… oops).

Healthy Pumpkin MuffinsHealthy Pumpkin Muffins
Yield:  1 dozen
Time:  30 minutes

1 cup pumpkin puree (you can also use squash such as buttercup or acorn)*
2 eggs
1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce OR additional pumpkin
1/3 cup water
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup oat flour (OR 1/2 cup oats, finely ground in a food processor)
1/4 cup wheat germ
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 tsp. kosher salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
1/4 to 1/2 cup pecans, chopped

In a large bowl, whisk together first six ingredients (through vanilla).  Stir in sugars.  In a separate bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients.  Add wet ingredients to dry; stir just until combined.  Bake at 375 F in greased muffin pan for 18-20 minutes.

*For more information on roasting and pureeing squash or pumpkin, start with this website.  I store mine in plastic containers or bags in the freezer.

