Tomato, tomahto.  When I got married, I discovered that I had been pronouncing a whole host of words incorrectly.  Well, okay, maybe just a few–but they were important ones for a food loving couple like us.  Bal-SAM-ic vinegar, not BAL-sa-mic.  Cil-AHN-tro, not cil-ANN-tro.  I grew up calling cumin comino (I think that’s a Hispanic thing, though).  And I’m pretty sure I never even tried to pronounce the word prosciutto before I met my husband.  My parents were (and still are) amazing cooks, so why bother taking four kids out to fancy restaurants all the time?  We spent hours outside making mud and dandelion pies, not watching cooking shows.  Martha Stewart would probably swoon if she heard me pronouncing the word Napoli.  Who cares?  It still tastes delicious.

I love my mom’s recipe for using up bucketloads of fresh green beans this time of year, but their frozen or canned counterparts will work… um… almost as well.  Fresh bread crumbs make this dish amazing; it only takes a couple of seconds to whirl them up in a food processor.  I usually use the fake Parmesan in the green can (Martha wouldn’t approve of that either), but I’m sure freshly grated cheese would take these beans to a whole new level.

Green Beans NapoliGreen Beans Napoli
Time:  15 minutes
Serves 4

1 lb. fresh green beans, cut into 1- to 2-inch pieces*
1 T. butter
1/4 cup fresh bread crumbs (from about 1/2 slice bread)
1/2 tsp. paprika
3 T. grated Parmesan cheese
1 T. olive oil
garlic salt to taste

Steam green beans until just tender; do not overcook.  Transfer to serving dish; keep warm.

Meanwhile, in a small pan, melt butter over medium heat.  Add bread crumbs and stir until crumbs are golden brown and crunchy.  Remove from heat.  Add paprika and Parmesan; toss lightly until combined.

Toss beans with oil and garlic salt; top with bread crumb mixture.  Serve hot.

*For more on steaming vegetables, check out this post from my old blog.  You can also substitute 1 lb. canned or frozen green beans (heat them up first), although fresh is the best.

