Drowning in produce yet?  Despite the weeds and the grasshoppers and the lack of rain, I have more cucumbers and cherry tomatoes than I know what to do with (almost… I’m managing to keep up so far).  This morning I made a beautiful batch of oven-roasted cherry tomatoes; if they taste half as good as they smell, I will be quite happy.  I’ve also made several bowls of my mother-in-law’s amazing cucumber salad.  This is not the creamy version of cucumber salad that some people make.  That kind is okay, but I really love this one for its sweet-sour vinaigrette.  I’m a big fan of dill, too–next year I’m hoping to put some in my herb garden, if only for this recipe and for beef stroganoff.

This recipe is best if made a day ahead, to give the cucumbers a little time to marinate.  But you can do it in two hours (one for salting the cucumbers, one for chilling) if you’re in a hurry.  If you have one, a mandoline will make short work of thinly slicing the vegetables (please use the hand guard).  And even if you’re not a fan of raw onions (*raises hand*), you should put them in.  They add an extra bit of flavor, and you can always pick them out later if you don’t want dragon breath.

Cucumber SaladCucumber Salad
Serves 6
Time:  15 minutes prep, plus at least 2 hours (best if made the day ahead)

4 cucumbers, peeled and very thinly sliced
1 onion, very thinly sliced
1 tsp. salt
1/3 cup vinegar
1/3 cup vegetable or canola oil
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp. dill weed OR 1 T. fresh dill, chopped (or add more if you like)
salt and pepper, to taste

Place cucumbers and onion in a large bowl.  Fill bowl with cold water to just above the level of the vegetables.  Sprinkle about 1 tsp. salt over the water.  Cover and refrigerate 1 hour.  Drain (do not rinse).

Whisk together vinegar, oil, and sugar until sugar is dissolved.  Add dill weed, salt, and pepper to taste.  Pour dressing over drained cucumbers and onions.  Refrigerate for 1 hour or, preferably, up to 24 hours.  Toss to combine; serve cold.

Cucumber Salad 2

