My husband and I got on a big popsicle kick when I was pregnant and discovered those new Edy’s Outshine mango fruit bars.  I don’t even really like plain fresh mango that much, but those popsicles tasted so. good.  Especially when the only other thing I felt like eating was those weird styrofoam-y rice cakes.  Eventually we decided we might as well buy a decent popsicle mold and make our own.  And now that we have a Costco membership we can load up on whole crates of mangoes and make as many popsicles as we want.

This recipe isn’t quite the same as the kind you buy in the store, but I think they’re pretty darn delicious.  I especially like the creaminess added by the yogurt–I prefer Greek yogurt, but regular plain yogurt would work too.  The original recipe calls for 1/4 tsp. ground cardamom; I leave it out since I don’t have any on hand (and I don’t feel like buying it just for this recipe), but I’m sure it would add an extra burst of flavor.

Mango PopsiclesMango-Yogurt Popsicles (from Perfect Pops)
Time:  15 minutes prep, 6 hours to freeze
Yield:  6 to 10 popsicles, depending on mold

2 1/2 cups cubed mango (from about 1 pound of fruit, or two large mangoes)
3/4 cup plain yogurt (I prefer Greek)
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp. freshly squeezed lime juice

In a blender, combine all ingredients until smooth and creamy.  Freeze in popsicle molds for at least 6 hours until firm.

Mango Popsicles 2

