In my most recent attempt at organizing my meal planning process, I noticed that my recipe binder was full of tasty-looking soup recipes that I have yet to try.  A couple winters ago, I made soup practically every day for about a month (some days we had leftover soup).  I think it’s time to do it again.

If I find any keepers, I’ll try to post them here.  In the meantime, here’s one of our favorite soup recipes–a smooth black bean soup with a little bit of heat and a lot of flavor.  The ingredient list is long, but I usually have most of the items on hand.  Add a couple of cornbread muffins for a surprisingly filling meal.

(My attempts at getting fancy with the sour cream resulted in something you might serve at Halloween.  Oops.)

Creamy Black Bean SoupCreamy Black Bean Soup (from this recipe)
Time:  45 minutes
Serves 8-9

4 celery ribs, diced
1 large onion, diced
8 garlic cloves, minced
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
4 tsp. canola oil
5 cans (15 oz. each) black beans, rinsed (about 10 cups)
2 cans (14.5 oz. each) vegetable broth
3/4 cup water
2 tsp. dried oregano
2 tsp. ground cumin
2 tsp. chili powder
2 tsp. black pepper
1/2 tsp. ground coriander
1/4-1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp. Frank’s Red Hot sauce

Garnish:
2 roma tomatoes, diced
1/3 cup fresh cilantro, minced
sour cream (or, in a pinch, Greek yogurt)

In a large soup pot or dutch oven over medium heat, sauté the celery, onion, garlic, and jalapeno in oil until onion is tender.  Stir in remaining ingredients (except garnish).  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 20 minutes.

Using an immersion blender, process soup until smooth (alternatively, cool soup slightly and process in batches in a regular blender, then return to pan and heat through).

Garnish each serving with tomatoes, cilantro, and sour cream.

Creamy Black Bean Soup

