I finally did it.  I found the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe.  Slightly crispy on the bottom, chewy but not undercooked on the inside, chock-full of chocolate and walnuts, just perfect with a glass of milk… are you drooling yet?  These things are amazing.  My family doesn’t really “have” a favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe, so I sacrificed my precious time and slaved over a hot oven for months on a soul-searching quest for the perfect recipe to call my own.  (Not really.  I just tried out a handful of online recipes and ate the cookies all day while my husband was working.  We wouldn’t want him to get fat, would we?)

Anyway, this recipe is not my own; it’s from allrecipes.com, and I made some changes based on the reviews.  I also cut the recipe in half because, as you know, I hate baking cookies, and making six dozen of anything at once would drive me insane.  These cookies, however, would almost be worth it.  Just make them.

World's Best Chocolate Chip CookiesWorld’s Amazingest Chocolate Chip Cookies (based on this recipe)
Yield: about 3 dozen

2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup butter, softened (not melted)
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 (3.4 ounce) package instant vanilla pudding mix (dry; don’t make the pudding)
2 eggs
1 T. vanilla extract
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars with an electric or stand mixer (about 2 minutes).  Add dry pudding mix until well combined.  Beat in eggs, one at a time, and vanilla.  Continuing to use the electric/stand mixer, gradually add flour mixture, about 1/2 cup at a time, until well combined.  Finally, stir in chocolate chips and walnuts (I find it easiest to use my hands).

Chill dough for 30-60 minutes before using.

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Roll dough into balls (mine are about 1 1/4″ in diameter) and place on an ungreased cookie sheet (these cookies don’t spread a lot, so at least 12 will fit on a standard sheet).  Bake 10-12 minutes, until golden brown on the edges (cookies will look underdone on top–don’t overcook them!)  Rest for 1 minute on pan before transferring to a cooling rack.

Wolrd's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

