Souffles are supposed to be scary.  At least that’s what I’ve heard.  They’re always “falling” or something.  I wouldn’t know.  Until recently, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a souffle, much less tried to make one.  But then I found a recipe for broccoli souffle that sounded too good to pass up (come on, it’s broccoli!), and I decided to be extra crazy and test it out for the first time on my in-laws.

It turned out great.  Light and fluffy and broccoli-y.  It deflated just a little after sitting at room temperature for a few minutes, but then, so do other baked goods, right?  Whatever.  It looked okay to me.  Aaaand… I might have eaten all the leftovers by myself the next day.  I even made it again a week later (broccoli!) and it was still delicious.  I think I’ve found another keeper.

I really thought this recipe was pretty simple, if a little time-consuming for a side dish, but if you’re still scared of souffles, here’s a good intro to handling egg whites.

Broccoli SouffleBroccoli Souffle (source)
Time:  1 hour
Serves 6

10 ounces frozen broccoli, thawed, drained, and coarsely chopped OR 10 ounces fresh broccoli, lightly steamed (just until bright green) and coarsely chopped
2 T. butter
2 T. flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (use the real stuff if possible)
4 eggs, separated (be sure that NO yolk gets into the whites)

In a saucepan over medium heat, cook and stir broccoli and butter until the butter is melted.  Set 2 T. aside for topping.  Add flour and salt to remaining broccoli; stir until blended.  Gradually add milk.  Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened.  Remove from heat; stir in cheese.

In a large mixing bowl, beat egg yolks (I use a hand mixer on medium speed) until thick and lemon-colored, about 3 minutes.  Add broccoli mixture and set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, beat egg whites at high speed until stiff peaks form; gently fold into broccoli mixture (I use a rubber spatula).  Pour into an ungreased 1-1/2-quart deep round baking dish (it should have a flat bottom and vertical sides).  Bake, uncovered, at 350 F for 20 minutes.  Sprinkle with the reserved broccoli.  Bake 10 minutes longer or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean.

Broccoli Souffle

